The new leader, cabinet members and chair of Folkestone & Hythe District Council have now been appointed.

Leader Cllr Jim Martin has selected the following portfolio holders:

  • Cllr Jim Martin: Leader and Cabinet Member for Otterpool Park and Planning Policy
  • Cllr Tim Prater: Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for Finance and Governance
  • Cllr Gary Fuller: Cabinet Member for Resident Engagement and Accountability
  • Cllr Mike Blakemore: Cabinet Member for Community and Collaboration
  • Cllr Rebecca Shoob: Cabinet Member for Housing and Homelessness
  • Cllr Stephen Scoffham: Cabinet Member for Climate Change and Transport
  • Cllr James Butcher: Cabinet Member for Regulatory Services, Building Control and Civic Duty
  • Cllr Rich Holgate: Cabinet Member for Place Plan, Heritage, Tourism and the District Economy
  • Cllr Jeremy Speakman: Cabinet Member for Assets and Operations

Cllr Jim Martin said: “This team will work closely together to manage the functions of the council well, improve the environment and give a great service to the people of Folkestone & Hythe.

“This is an exciting new council and we will work collaboratively with the community to achieve amazing things for our extraordinary district.”

The new leader outlined a number of priorities at the Annual General Meeting held on 24 May 2023, including moving to a committee system of governance. The proceedings can be watched online.

Cllr Abena Akuffo-Kelly was elected as council chair for 2023/24, with Cllr Anita Jones selected as vice-chair.

The chairs of the council’s committees are as follows:

  • Audit and Governance Committee: Cllr Liz McShane
  • Planning and Licensing Committee: Cllr Jackie Meade
  • Personnel Committee: Cllr Connor McConville

By Ed

©2024 Hawkinge Gazette       -       The Hawkinge Gazette is not responsible for the content of external sites