Folkestone Camera Club meeting

Contributed by editor on Nov 19, 2004 - 08:24 PM

Monday 15th November saw Mr Brian Weatherley  from Tovil Camera Club, returning to our club to judge our second slide competition of the season, He is a very experienced photographer and judge and he gave us very constructive comments o­n our entries.

The winners (marks out of 20) in each section were:-
Monochrome: Waling Away from Fame David Hughes  20
(12 entries)  Alpine Valley   Fay Meek  18
London Interior  Betty Boreham 18
Cypriot Church  Bob Brisley LRPS 18
   King Gate Bay   Dave Turner  18
Novice:  To the Crypt   Glen Yorke  16
(2 entries)  
Intermediate:  Mount Etna   Bill Grudgings ` 19
(10 entries)   Julian Alps   Charles White  18
   Patiently Waiting For the Squirrel     Melanie Chalk 18
   Spaghetti Cycles  Bill Grudgings  18
Advanced:  Mark Chagalls’ Light  Bob Brisley LRPS 20  
(20 entries)   Chairs    Vic Fowler  20
   The Staircase   Fay Meek  20
   Shadow Patterns  Betty Boreham 19
   In Speight   Jerry Watson  19   
Medium Format: Poise    Bryan Mewse  20
(4 entries)  XFO215   Victor Fowler  18 
The above winning photographs, scoring 20 points,  can be seen o­n our website at  where we also have many Links to Photography related and other Shops.
Following our Print Competition No. 2  this week, the ‘Len Charles Trophy’  will be held o­n 29th November.  This is where members show a maximum of 15 slides o­n a connected subject or story along with a commentary..  The following Monday 6th December we will be seeing  Audio Visual presentations from Brisbane and Adelaide  Camera Clubs in Australia which will prove to be a superb evening of photography.
Our next Practical evening will be held o­n Wednesday 1st December, which is where members have the opportunity to practice with the clubs studio lighting with a model or do some table-top photography.

Our meetings are held at the United Reform Community Hall, Castle Hill Avenue, Folkestone o­n Mondays at 7.45pm.  New members are always welcome, if interested please phone Mrs Jenny Barraclough (Press Officer) 01303 245399.
E mail: